50th anniversary gala in the Tobin

Industry and Community Partners Gather to Celebrate Hallmark University’s Achievements and Future

Hallmark University was honored to host more than 300 guests at its “50 Years of Change” Gala on Friday, September 27th, at the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts.  Community leaders, generous donors, and industry partners joined to celebrate the transformational journey the institution has undergone in the last half-century.  Hallmark began as a school training eight students in aviation maintenance in 1969, and last Friday, the Hallmark community raised more than $148,000 to help launch the institution into the next 50 years.  Hallmark University also announced that every dollar raised for the 50th Anniversary will be matched in student scholarships.  This generous match increased the impact of the evening to nearly $300,000 for the next generation of students, for A Giant Leap for Change.

Hallmark’s 50th Anniversary Gala was hosted by Emmy-award-winning weekday co-anchor for News4 and longtime Hallmark University friend, Randy Beamer.  Karin Harris, Vice Chair for the Governor’s Commission for Women, read a proclamation from Governor Abbott, who sent his sincere regrets in missing this milestone occasion.  Hallmark was also proud to host guests of U.S. Representative Will Hurd’s (TX-23) office: Don Vasser, District Representative, and Stacy Arteaga, Deputy District Director.

Hallmark University has grown to train students in four specialized industries, providing graduates with critical skills to industry partners in need of a knowledgeable workforce.  Creating formidable change in San Antonio, through education, is the legacy of change that began with Hallmark University’s founders, Richard and Carolyn Fessler.  Mr. and Mrs. Fessler laid the groundwork of character building and industry collaboration, the pillars of what the institution is today. To mark this accomplishment, Hallmark University held the extreme privilege to honor Mr. and Mrs. Fessler with the inaugural Legacy of Change Award, for the mission and dedication to this community.

“Dedicated and talented people built this unique university, and today we have the most capable and dedicated faculty and staff,” said Richard Fessler, Founder of Hallmark University. “Yes this is a celebration of 50 years of great success, but even more so of a launching pad for far greater and exciting things for our students. Thank you to our amazing faculty and staff, our dedicated Board of Trustees, business and industry partners, and to our incredible students.”

This celebration marks the beginning of a new chapter for Hallmark University, as the institution’s leaders have planned the next phase of growth to further capitalize on its momentum of changing higher education. Hallmark University President and CEO, Joe Fisher, shared the three elements that will secure the success of Hallmark University’s upcoming endeavors.

“Hallmark believes that three things will determine the success of our journey over the next ten years: technology, engagement, and relevance,” said Joe Fisher, CEO and President of Hallmark University. “Hallmark has a massive head start in all of these areas, but our challenge is to stay ahead of the exploding demand for this new environment. Our plans over the next five years challenge us to maintain the academic excellence and outcomes our graduates are known for while developing superior, forward-thinking faculty and staff, designing and implementing inspirational facilities, and developing transformational leaders and community servants.”

To prepare for the next 50 years and A Giant Leap for Change, Hallmark has undergone several initiatives to prepare for the next levels of success, including the launch of Hallmark University Online and the addition of new master-level degree programs. All of the growth and change that Hallmark University has undergone would not have been possible without the support and experience of every individual involved in making the institution a change-maker in the San Antonio community.

View the photos here!

Learn More About Our 50 Years of Change Celebration


Thank you to all of our sponsors:

Richard and Carolyn Fessler
CommuniCare Health Centers
FlightSafety International
Southwest Airlines Technical Operations
Tim Lyles
Mary McClane Nelson
Neal Askew
Joe Fisher
Dean Rush
Jennifer L. Berglund
Tommy and Christi Moorman
Major General W.N. “Chuck” Carroll
Pamela and Michael McCray
Vanessa Hammler Kenon
Frost Bank
San Antonio Area Foundation
Sinclair Broadcast Group
Holy Trinity Catholic Church
Hoblit, Darling, Ralls, Hernandez, and Hudlow LLP